Yiorgos Kaloudis interprets on the 4-string Cretan Lyra, one of the most important works of J.S.Bach, the Suites for Solo Cello.
Cellist, lyra player, improviser and composer, Yiorgos Kaloudis created a new interpretive approach, adding a fourth string (low C), on the traditional Cretan lyra and transcribing this work of Bach in the authentic tonalities of the composer. 

J.S. Bach Cello Suites 1,2,3,4 and 5 :

  • Cello Suite no. 1, BWV 1007

  • Cello Suite no. 2, BWV 1008

  • Cello Suite no. 3, BWV 1009

  • Cello Suite no. 4, BWV 1010

  • Cello Suite no. 5, BWV 1011

Yiorgos Kaloudis: 4-string Cretan Lyra with sympathetic strings

“I have lived a long, 12-year journey exploring the freedom, the inspiration, the spontaneous improvisation, the truth and joy while studying and practising all the Cello Suites.

I trusted a strong instinct leading me in the right direction, drawn by the music and the beauty of the instrument.

The sound, the vibrations, the depth of the rich harmonics, the melodic lines, the chords and the timbres of the sound of the senses Cretan lyra revealed a divine beauty, exposed through J.S. Bach's work, bringing an ancient quality of sound and a precious silence of the Aegean Sea to my senses."